Picking the Best Blender for you

 

Picking the Best Blender for you. You want to find the best blender for you, but where do you start? Research can be overwhelming—there are hundreds of online reviews, word-of-mouth recommendations from friends, even entire websites devoted to the search for the best blender. Luckily for you, we’ve narrowed the focus down to four essential questions.

1. Why are you buying a blender?

Do you want to make healthier choices for you and your family? Maybe you have food allergies or special dietary needs, and want to take control of what you eat by grinding your own flour, making homemade nut butters, and more.

Also consider how many people you’re typically cooking for, and make sure your new blender has the right capacity to meet your needs. Whether you want a versatile kitchen appliance that can make everything from hot soup to smoothies, or just a once-in-a-while margarita maker, identifying exactly what you want to use a blender for can help narrow your options.

2. How long do you want your blender to last?

While some blenders last only a few months, others can stand up to years of daily use. It’s important to consider factors like quality, durability, and power when making a selection. Notice how the blades are made, and how the machine is constructed. For example, a metal drive system will last longer than plastic. Also pay attention to the length of the warranty that comes with the machine. Is it a full warranty, or does it have limitations in the fine print?

3. Is the blender easy to use?

The easier your blender is to use, the more often you’ll use it, getting the most out of your purchase. Take a look at the controls. Do you want pre-set programs for convenience, or manual controls to get just the right texture? Set yourself up for success by making sure your new blender can do what you need, and gives you the amount of control you prefer.

Also pay attention to how the blender is cleaned. Is it self-cleaning or dishwasher-safe? Does it need to be disassembled for cleaning? If so, is it easily taken apart and put back together? How many different attachments will need to be cleaned and stored? Thinking about how easy the blender is to use before purchasing will save you possible frustration in the future.

4. What’s your blender budget?

Blender prices can range from a few dollars to a few hundred dollars, so it’s important to have a budget in mind when you begin your search. Like everything else, you tend to get what you pay for the in the blender world. As you learn more about the capability and quality you want in a blender, you might have to revisit your original budget.

If you want a multi-functional kitchen appliance that can make soups, dips, nut butters, non-dairy milks, purées, frozen desserts, and more, then that versatility will factor into the price.

Ultimately, the best blender is one that will meet your needs now and grow with you in the future. Answer these questions, and you’ll be on the way to finding the best blender for you.

Our Picks for Best Blenders

Wondering which blenders are the best? I found these to be the best for each purpose and budget.

best blender reviews
Ninja Mega Kitchen BL-770

Best blender for green smoothies

Product: Ninja Mega Kitchen System (BL-770)
Price:  $159.99 (as of 8/18/17)
Cheapest Place to Buy: Amazon.com
Warranty: 5 years limited
My Rating: 9/10

Ninja Mega Kitchen System

The Ninja® Mega Kitchen System® is a complete system to inspire healthy living for the entire family. The Ninja® Mega Kitchen System® provides professional performance and power with a 72oz. Blender pitcher, 8 cup food processor and 2 16oz. Nutri Ninja® Cups! This professional kitchen system comes packed with 1500 watts/2 HP to handle all of your drink and meal making needs.

The XL 72oz. Blender pitcher features Total Crushing® Technology to crush through ice and frozen fruit. Create creamy frozen drinks and smoothies for the whole family! Two 16oz. Nutri Ninja® Cups are perfect for creating personalized, nutrient-rich drinks for on-the-go.

With the 8 cup food processing bowl, chop fresh ingredients perfectly or mix up to 2 pounds of dough in 30 seconds. All parts are BPA free and dishwasher safe.
1500 Watt/2 Horsepower Professional Kitchen System

  • XL 72oz. Total Crushing® Blender crushes ice and frozen fruit in seconds
  • 8 Cup Food Processor Bowl with Feed Chute Lid – make 2 lbs. of dough in 30 seconds!
  • Reversible Slicing/Shredding Disc & Grating Disc for perfect, even results
  • 2 16oz. Nutri Ninja® Cups for nutrient-rich drinks on-the-go

Backed by a 5-year warranty

==>Click here to buy the Ninja Mega Kitchen System BL-770 at amazon.com<== 

 

Best blender for fruit smoothies

best blender reviews
Ninja Pro BL-660

Product: Ninja Pro (BL-660)
Price: $99.98 (as of 08/18/17)
Cheapest place to Buy: Amazon.com
Warranty: 5 years limited
My Rating: 8.8/10

Ninja Pro BL660

The Ninja® Professional Blender with Single Serve is a professional, high-powered innovative tool with a sleek design and outstanding performance. The Ninja® Total Crushing™ blades break down the toughest ingredients such as ice, whole fruits, and vegetables in seconds! Create resort-style frozen drinks for the entire family with the XL 72 oz. Pitcher or create healthy, personalized drinks for on the go with the Nutri Ninja® cups.

With the Ninja® Professional Blender with Single Serve you’ll enjoy:

  • 1100 Watts of power
  • 72 oz. XL Pitcher with Blade and Lid
  • (2) 16 oz. Nutri Ninja® Cups
  • (2) Single Serve To-Go Lids
  • Single Serve Blade Assembly

Backed by a 5-year warranty

==>Click here to buy the Ninja Pro BL660 at amazon.com<==

 

Best blender for ice smoothies

best blender reviews
Vitamix Pro Series 750

Product: Vitamix Pro Series 750
Price: $598.95 (as of 8/18/17)
Cheapest Place to Buy: Amazon.com
Warranty: 7 years full
My Rating: 9.4/10

Vitamix Pro Series 750

Features

Five pre-programmed settings automatically handle Smoothies, Hot Soups, Frozen Desserts, Purées, and Self-Cleaning. Our Heritage Collection now offers your choice of two durable sleek metal exteriors to match other premium appliances in your kitchen.

Automated Blending

Five pre-programmed settings ensure simple cleaning, walk-away convenience, and consistent results for a smoothie, frozen dessert, soup, and purée recipes.

Quieter Motor

The commercial-grade 2.2-peak horsepower motor is able to blend the toughest ingredients, yet our latest sound technology makes it our quietest motor yet.

Easy Cleaning

With a drop of dish soap and warm water, your Vitamix machine can clean itself in 30 to 60 seconds.

Low-Profile 64-ounce Container

The 64-ounce Low-Profile Container is perfect for family meals and entertaining while fitting comfortably under most kitchen cabinets.

Comes with a 7-Year Full Warranty

==>Click here to buy the Vitamix Pro Series 750 at amazon.com<==

 

Best blender for purees and soups

best blender reviews
Brevelle BSB510XL

Product: Breville BSB510XL
Price: $94.73 (as of 8/18/17)
Cheapest Place to Buy: Amazon.com
Warranty: 1 year limited
My Rating: 9.2/10

Breville BSB510XL Immersion Blender

The Control Grip™

A commercially inspired kitchen appliance, offering you the control and all of the tools.
Simple soups can often be hard to make, as stick mixers are notoriously clunky to hold and suffer from excessive suction, drawing the mixer to the base of the bowl or pot.

The Control Grip™ incorporates an ergonomic trigger grip, which is easily engaged with a very natural hand position. Control is further enhanced with a reduced suction blade and leg design. This model also incorporates a stainless steel shaft, 25oz chopper, 42oz jug, and a whisk attachment.

You gain control over your stick mixer, rather than it having control over you.

Backed by a 1-year limited warranty

==>Click here to buy the Breville BSB510XL at amazon.com<==

 

Best High-End Blender

best blender reviews
Blendtec 675 Designer Series

Product: Blendtec 675 Designer Series
Price: $551.96 (as of 8/22/17)
Cheapest Place to Buy: Amazon.com
Warranty: 8 years full
My Rating: 9.4/10

Blendtec 675 Designer Series

The Designer 675 offers advanced blending technology and a wide range of easy-to-use features. Create everything from smoothies to hot soups to salsas and dips with a single touch—it’s a must for any kitchen. It’s the perfect combination of intuitive, functional, and sleek style.

Features include:

  • * 3.0 peak horsepower motor
  • Illuminated touch interface
  • 5 Preprogrammed cycles: Smoothie, Frozen Treats, Whole Juice, Hot Soup, Clean
  • 8-speed capacitive touch slider + Pulse
  • “Add 10”
  • Illuminated display indicates remaining blend time and total mix cycle count

Illuminated Touchscreen Controls

An intuitive control surface adds a modern flair to any kitchen. It’s illuminated to be easy to see and simple to use. It lights up with a single touch and shuts off automatically. Plus, it’s completely flat design is easy to thoroughly clean.

8-Speed Touch Slider + Pulse

Get precision speed control for 8 speeds with the slide of a finger. Use Pulse to add a standalone burst of power—great for chopping and light mixing.

5 Preprogrammed Blend Cycles

Five preprogrammed cycles enable one-touch blending perfection: Smoothie, Frozen Treats, Whole Juice, Hot Soup, and Clean. The Designer 675 automatically speeds up, slows down, and shuts off to achieve great results every time.

“Add 10”

Use the “Add 10” icon to add 10-second intervals to your blend cycles for completely customized blends. Also, use it as a stand-alone 10-second cycle.

Comes with a 8-year warranty and a 30-day money back guarantee

Proudly made in the USA

==>Click here to buy the Blendtec 675 Designer Series at amazon.com<==

 

Budget Friendly Blender

best blender reviews
Oster Pro1200

Product: Oster Pro 1200
Price: $58.00 (as of 8/18/17)
Cheapest Place to Buy: Amazon.com
Warranty: All metal drive system 10 years full, all other parts 5 years limited
My Rating: 8.2/10

Oster Pro™ 1200 Features

THE Oster Pro™ 1200 SUPERIOR BLENDING DESIGN – Dual Direction Blade Technology
  • Stainless steel 6-point blade works with the motor to automatically kick into reverse to free jar jam-ups.
Extra Large Blade System – Crush Pro 6® Blade Assembly
  • The Oster Pro® 1200’s extra wide base and 50% larger blade* ensure that food blends freely with minimal pockets of air, to just the right consistency.
    Extra Wide Base – Allows food to reach blade quickly for more efficient blending.
Smart Settings™ Technology

Includes pre-programmed settings for smoothies, salsa, and milkshakes to make your favorite foods and beverages with ease.

  • Smart Settings™ blender technology takes the guesswork out of blending with easy, one-touch controls.
  • 7 speeds – different ways to make it fresh from PULSE to PUREE.
  • Starting up with an extra boost at 1200 power watts, it works with blending force to smoothly and continuously create the consistency you need.
Smoothie To-Go Cup

Conveniently blend smoothies in personal size smoothie cup, add travel lid and go. There’s less mess and more convenience for taking smoothies with you on your way to work, the gym or wherever!

  • Extra Large Capacity 24 oz smoothie cup
Legendary DURALAST™ All Metal Drive System for Durability and Dependability
  • Oster® Blenders are uniquely designed with Legendary Duralast™ All-Metal Drive which assures lasting quality and performance, outlasting competitor plastic drive systems by far. The Oster All-Metal Drive system is Life tested to blend up to 10,000 smoothies and is backed by a 10-year warranty.

==>Click here to buy the Oster Pro1200 at amazon.com<==

Final Thought:

Yes, Blendtec and Vitamix are the ultimate in blending, but if you’re on a tighter budget, Oster offers a worthy alternative. It has quite a powerful motor, but hard to mix ingredients might be a little more challenging. All in all, it’s great value blender that gets the job done on a budget.

I hope you found this article helpful. If you have anything that you’d like to share or any opinions on any of the content on my site, please do speak up. I look forward to your comments, questions and the sharing of ideas.

Note: Thank-you for supporting this website through purchases you make on the provided affiliate links.

Recommended article:

Introducing the Vitamix Explorian E310 Blender

All Prices are subject to change without notice.

Please follow and like us:

8 Comments

  1. Norman said:

    Hello, such a great post on blenders. I believe that every home should have a blender because having a tool like this around the kitchen is very handy. These blenders that you are reviewing here is pretty amazing and seems to be of top quality that can really get the job done. Your readers will love what you are sharing here in your post.

    January 6, 2018
    Reply
    • Robert Matthews said:

      Blenders are great for making healthy smoothies or other drinks. There are all types of blenders for every budget and that’s what I’ve tried to review for my readers. Thank-you Norman for taking the time and leaving a comment. Keep coming back.

      January 6, 2018
      Reply
  2. Lane Wesley said:

    Wow! Thanks for all the information on how to choose a blender. This is a purchase that is always confusing to make. I have bought blenders in the past and they didn’t perform well at the tasks I wanted them for daily.

    I also found it useful to see which blenders were affordable and also perform well.

    August 22, 2017
    Reply
    • Robert Matthews said:

      Hi Lane, thank-you for your comments. I hope that you’ll return to our website when it’s time to buy your next blender. Thanks again.

      August 22, 2017
      Reply
  3. Maureen said:

    One thing that I would normally worry about with the high end blenders the Vitamix Pro and Blendtec is the warranty. My sister-in-law has the Vitamix and she only had it for a few days and she was using it and left a spoon in it. Well you can imagine the damage. Instead of just replacing the damaged blades Vitamix sent her a brand new blender. They said it is surprising how many people actually leave something in the blender like she did so for a first time they will actually replace the blender after that they probably just replace the blades. So they are not only a good product but they do stand behind their warranty.

    The Vitamix and Blendtec are out of my price range but I think if I was looking for a blender I would look at the Oster Pro 1200. It certainly is within my price range.

    August 21, 2017
    Reply
    • Robert Matthews said:

      Hi Maureen, Thanks for your comments. Yes, Vitamix and Blendtec are pricey but they will stand behind there warranty. Remember, you get what you pay for. The Oster Pro 1200 has a good rating and should make an excellent entry level blender. Thanks again.

      August 21, 2017
      Reply
  4. Mitchell Balker said:

    Hello Rimatt,

    Thank you for this awesome article on blenders. I’m in the health industry myself and I love making smoothies so this is definitely my cup a tea:)

    I have the Nutri bullet myself and I love it. I was just wondering on an average when would you buy a new blender?

    August 20, 2017
    Reply
    • Robert Matthews said:

      Hello Mitchell, thanks for your comments. I agree the Nutri Bullet is a great value blender. As far as replacing them I would say that would depend on the performance of the blender. I’ve been using a Vitamix for 4 years and it’s running like new and I haven’t given any thought to replacing it.

      August 21, 2017
      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × two =